Featured Bodybuilder: Matthew Vogel

MattVogelThumbNew

Matthew Vogel

Age: 19

Height: 6’3″

Body Weight: Contest: 225 Off-Season: 280

Measurements: Bicep- 20.5″ Chest- 52.2/3″

When did you start Bodybuilding & how did you get started?

My father was very big into weight lifting. He had arms that measured well over 21.5″ and a chest that I can remember as a young kid comparable the pictures I would see of Arnold in all the old magazines he would have lying around. He was highly respected for his size and for being a natural weightlifter. I said to myself that is the type of body structure I want to have when I grow up. I started working out with my father in junior high. My training continued as I played football throughout my high school career. I set several lifting records at my school and continued to grow as my body and muscles started to mature into my late teen years. I was recruited out of high school to play D-1 football at the University of Akron and after a shoulder surgery immediately following the season I decided that I no longer wanted to play football and wanted to switch sports and go into competitive bodybuilding. I was able to rehab my shoulder very quickly and immediately began my prep for the NPC Pittsburgh Championships. After winning the Pittsburgh show in May I knew right then that I had found my sport and a beginning to what I wanted to do the rest of my life and what God has in his plan for me for the future. I then went on and placed 2nd in the Heavyweight at the NPC Teen, Collegiate, and Masters Nationals.

Matthew Vogel double1

Describe your training program

My training consists of 6 days a week. Monday through Saturday are my training days and Sunday is my off day for rest and recovery. Typically I work each muscle group twice a week. Monday-Chest, Back, Calves, Abs

Tuesday- Biceps, Triceps, Forearms, Calves

Wednesday- Shoulders, Legs, Traps

Thursday- Back, Chest, Calves, Abs

Friday- Triceps, Biceps, Forearms, Calves

Saturday- Shoulders, Legs, Traps

Sunday- Rest

Although I hit each muscle group twice a week, I like to rotate which muscle group I begin with so it will allow me to hit each muscle the beginning of a workout where my energy levels are at their highest with the exception of legs. I always hit my legs last because I try to use every last bit of energy I have towards them leaving me feeling dead afterwards. I also feel that my calves need to be hit much more frequently especially due to my height so I usually work them about 4 times per week. I workout in my uncles basement using most of the same weights he and my dad had used when they were big into weight lifting. We have actually been able to collect quite a bit of equipment over the years and have pretty much everything a bodybuilder needs, and what we don’t have we usually make adjustments or find other ways to simulate the movements for the exercise that needs to be done. Often times I will go into the local gyms to use some of the equipment that we don’t have. My workouts usually last about 2 1/2 hours, this provides me with enough time to properly hit and destroy the muscle groups that I am working for that day. Intensity is my biggest thing when I work out, for example I make sure that when I leave the gym on a chest day that my chest is so dead that I struggle to complete one push-up. Every 15 weeks I take 2 weeks off to allow my body to recover from my workouts and flush out the supplements.

 

Describe your diet and supplementation

On a regular day for my off-season diet I take in around 7-8,000 calories per day with about 450-500g of protein. I rarely have any sweets allowing most of my carbohydrates to come from complex sources. I also try to cut out fat as much as possible especially saturated and trans fatty acids. Generally I take in about 7 meals per day and consume anywhere from 3-4 gallons of water during my heavy training periods. When I’m trying to add mass I really don’t limit my food intake, I basically cut out all junk food and try to consume as much food as possible to ensure my body is getting all the proper nutrition from growth and recovery. Typically I will eat at around 7:30 am, 10:00, 12:30, 3:30 (pre-workout), 7:30, 9:30, 11:00. Along with my breakfast I consume a weight gainer shake, usually one that packs around 1200 cals. For my pre workout I usually eat a smaller meal as compared to the others. This usually consists of high protein and carb sources extremely low in fat. Before bed I like to go lighter on the carbs and eat protein sources and drink casein shakes to provide my muscles with the time-released proteins. Other than those 3 meals I usually eat until I cant force another bite down taking in extremely high loads of calories protein and complex carbs. I am a natural bodybuilder and very serious about my supplementation. Timing is everything to me. In the morning I consume about 5 grams of glutamine, BCAAS, arginine for blood flow, and Animal PAK for all my vitamins and amino acids. At lunch I consume a pack of Animal Omega to get all of my Omega fatty Acids in. With my preworkout meal I consume 10g of glutamine, arginine, and two scoops of whey protein. I don’t not take pre workout supplements that contain caffeine and other stimulants because I feel those are more mental and the feeling you get from those come from the stimulants can become addictive and you feel you have to have them in order to workout. Immediately following my workout I consume more BCAAS and 10 g of glutamine with my post workout shake. Before bedtime I consume another 5g of glutamine, vitamin C, and casein protein. I also cycle creatine monohydrate with three phases that lasts 8 weeks, a loading phase, maintenence phase and off phase. For my contest Prep I consume all of the same supplements, just in higher dosages. My contest diet is very plain and to the extreme. My diet consists of nothing but Tuna and water for about 5-7 weeks depending on the amount of body fat I need to lose. This is a ketogenic diet, allowing my body to basically burn pure body fat for energy due to the lack of carbohydrates. For my protein shake during this time I use Natures Best’s Isopure because it contains 0 carbs. I generally take in about 5 g of carbs per day at this time and consume anywhere from 20-25 cans of tuna per day. My diet cycle for the tuna and water is 10 days on and one day off.

 

What are your favorite supplements?

My favorite supplements are Animal PAK, ON Serious Mass, plain creatine monohydrate, L-Arginine.

 

Bodybuilding Achievements

I competed in my first contest at the 2012 NPC Pittsburgh Championships and won the overall teen division and was displayed in the August 2012 edition of IRON MAN Magazine. I then went on to compete in the 2012 Teen, Collegiate, and Masters National Championships and took 2nd in the Teen Heavyweight Division.

 

Contest History

2012 NPC Pittsburgh Championships — 1st Pittsburgh, PA

2012 Teen, Collegiate, and Masters National Championships — Teen Heavyweight 2nd Pittsburgh, PA

MattVogelDouble2

What are your goals for the future?

My future goals are to get sponsored and to compete in more competitions this fall and hopefully someday earn my Pro-Card in Natural Bodybuilding and be able to show what you can accomplish with proper diet, nutrition, and training.

 

Words from Matthew

I would like to give all glory to God because he is where my true strength comes from and I would be nowhere without him. I would also like to thank my family for supporting me financially and my grandparents for all their support as well as my friends for coming out to support me in my shows. I would also like to thank Jeff Smiley my posing coach for all his support at the Ellwood City Athletic Club and Dr. Kelly Allen for all his help and guidance on my nutrition and dieting.

 

I am a certified Personal Trainer and offer diet plans and contest prep. I can be reached through my email or facebook for rates and tips.

Find Matthew on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MatthewPVogel